brick and mortar

April 8, 2012

Shanghai Part 2

Filed under: Photography,Travel — brick @ 3:30 am
Tags: , , ,

Well, I must admit, I am trying hard to stay on top of this now. It has been neglected for too long and I have lots to share. When life gets busy, my creative outlet seems to be the first thing I shut off. No longer!

I was fortunate enough to be in Shanghai at the end of the Chinese New Year, and had access to the restricted Lantern Festival. This festival is celebrated on the fifteenth day of the first month in the lunisolar year in the Chinese calendar, the last day of the lunisolar Chinese New Year celebration. 2012 is the year of the dragon! This makes for excellent decorations.

Lantern Festival Dragon

Year of the Dragon

Lantern Festival 2012

Lanterns in Shanghai

Before dinner one night, I wanted to catch the skyline across from the Bund as it was lit up. The shots weren’t as great as I had hoped but what can you do. I wasn’t packing my tripod on the 16 hour flight.

Dinner Boat at Bund

Shanghai Skyline at Night

I love NY? Naaah, I love SH!

I Heart SH

One of the first stops we made was to the Shanghai History Museum. It was free to enter and it was truly mind blowing. Artifacts that were 20,000+ years old on display.

Shanghai History Museum

Ancient Chinese Rock Carving

Sculpture Over 5000 Years Old

Chinese Warrior

Dragon

Warriors

3 Comments »

  1. Great night photos

    Comment by 2 Rivers Photos — April 8, 2012 @ 3:45 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

